SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY ONE WASHINGTON SQUARE SAN JOSE, CA 95192

Amendment A to University Policy F08 -4, Sabbatical Policy

Legislative History:

At its meeting of March 21, 2022, the Academic Senate approved the following Policy Recommendation presented by Senator Hart for the Organization and Government Committee. University Policy <u>F08-4</u> was approved and signed by President Jon Whitmore on December 23, 2008. Amendment A to University Policy F08-4 is as follows:

Action by University President:

Approved and signed by Interim President Steve Perez on April 13, 2022.

Whereas: Sabbatical leaves benefit the University, its students, a (02)4.829 -1.d 4d 06 (c)4 (i)6.eas

scholars; and

Whereas: Sabbatical applications merit thoughtful consideration at all levels of

review; and

Whereas: Consultation with the President of SJSU indicates a need for the option of

them designating an appropriate administrator to share the workload of

reviewing sabbatical applications; and

Resolved: That University Policy F08-4 be amended as follows:

Section IV, Procedures, Item B. Calendar

The President, in consultation with Faculty Services, shall establish the annual sabbatical application and response deadlines for the following: (a)

submission by the applicant, (b) review by the Chair of the

Department/Unit, (c) review by the College/Unit Professional Leaves

Committee, (d) review by the Dean, (e) review by the University

Sabbatical Leaves Committee (USLC), a 7-day response opportunity from the candidate at each stage of the process, and (f) a final decision by the

President or their designee.

Section IV, Procedures, Item C. Levels of Review

the President does indeed have the authority to appoint a designee (an "appropriate administrator," in the language of the CBA) for the review of sabbatical applications.

Adding this language (the President "or their designee") into the sabbatical policy provides needed clarification for all current and future readers of the policy.

Approved: Feb 21, 2022

Vote: 10-0-0

Present: Andreopoulos, Baur, Hart, Higgins, Jochim, Kataoka, Muñoz-Muñoz,

Sandoval-Rios, Tian, Zhao

Absent: Millora

Firetnetaletaderso Tf u.6ihav (ader)7 (s)4Ja