

A campus of The California State University

Office of the Academic Senate • One Washington Square • San Jose, California 95192-0024 •408-924-2440 Fax: 408-924-2451

S05-5

At its meeting of April 4, 2005, the Academic Senate passed the following Policy Recommendation presented by Senator Veregge for the Organization and Government Committee.

## POLICY RECOMMENDATION CREATION OF THE HERITAGE, PRESERVATION AND PUBLIC HISTORY COMMITTEE

- Whereas, San José State University is the oldest public university in California, with a heritage going back to the establishment of Minn's Normal School in 1857; and
- Whereas, SJSU's heritage, history and traditions are important assets that need to be fostered and maintained; and
- Whereas, Supporting public history, both in the university and in the surrounding community is a function that runs across several disciplines, as well as the library, and
- Whereas, Individual colleges and academic units, as well as the university library, the administration and the Academic Senate should all be advised on how best to preserve, foster and make public their own individual histories and traditions; and
- Resolved, That the Heritage, Preservation and Public History Committee be established as a special agency of the Academic Senate, reporting to the Executive Committee; and be it further
- Resolved, That the charge of the committee be to advise the Senate and the President and propose resolutions and policies as appropriate in (1) ways to appropriately maintain and publicize the University's history and heritage, and raise the University community's awareness of its traditions, (2) preserving historical buildings, sites, papers and other items where appropriate and possible, and (3) coordinating and fostering Public History projects in both the university and the surrounding community; and be it further
- Resolved, That the members of the Committee be:
  - 1) Director, University Library Special Collections
  - 2) VP of Advancement, or designee
  - 3) VP of Student Affairs, or designee
  - 4) AVP of Facilities, Development and Operations, or designee
  - 5) SJSU History webmaster
  - 6) Chair of the Board of the Sourisseau Foundation, or designee

- 7) One faculty, staff, or administrator from each college appointed by the Academic Senate on nomination of the Executive Committee, for staggered 3-year terms; with such members selected for their interest and/or expertise in history or preservation
- 8) One faculty member from the History Department, selected by the department, serving a 3-year term
- 9) Two students (preferably one undergraduate and one graduate)

The committee shall select its own chair.

Approved: March 7, 2005

Vote: 6-0-0

Present: Parsons, Wilson, Easter, Fee, Choo, Veregge

Absent: Hebert, Lam, Hilliard, Selter

Financial Impact: None

Consulted: Chair of Senate, Representative of History Department, Executive Committee of Senate, Campus Planning Board, Director - University Library Special Collections