SAN JOSÉ STATE UNIVERSITY ONE WASHINGTON SQUARE SAN JOSE, CA 95192

SM-S19-4, Senate Management Resolution, Establishing a Special Committee to Coordinate and Prepare a Campus Response to the GE Task Force Report from February 2019

Background: At the beginning of February 2019, a task force set up by the Academic Senate of the CSU released their final report, the culmination of two years of work. That report is now available at the ASCSU website¹. The report, and any subsequent recommendations by the ASCSU, has the potential to influence Title 5 regulations of GE in the CSU and GE at SJSU. If SJSU feels the need to provide a campus response to the report, it needs to begin this work as quickly as practicable given the restricted timeline that the ASCSU has provided.

Resolved.

That the Academic Senate establish a special committee, as per Section 7 of the Senate bylaws², with the task of collecting the campus' reactions to the systemwide GE Task Force report and providing a response white paper to the ASCSU.

Resolved,

That the committee be composed of the following individuals:

- Ravisha Mathur (chair of special committee), Senate Vice Chair and incoming Senate Chair
- Brandon White, Curriculum & Research Chair
- Anne Marie Todd, Board of General Studies member
- Glen Gendzel, History Department Chair
- Thalia Anagnos, AVP for Undergraduate Studies

Resolved,

That the committee be charged as follows:

1. It shall survey widely for the campus' sentiments and reactions to the Task Force report (determs(-3 ()2) Te Chair of the Academic Senate of the CSU.

Resolved.

That the special committee be dissolved upon completion of the tasks listed above.

¹ http://calstate.edu/AcadSen/Records/Reports/

² http://www.sisu.edu/senate/docs/handbook/bylaws.pdf

Approved: February 25, 2019

Vote: 13-0-0

Present: Frazier, Wong(Lau), Shifflett, White, Marachi, Sullivan-Green, Peter, Lee,

Ficke, Day, Mathur, Riley, Faas

Absent: Papazian, Manzo

Financial Impact: None

Workload Impact: Workload increase for the five special committee members until such time

that it is disbanded.r0 (ed.831/0 (okaTc 0 Tw 0.49 0 Ted.1 (me)]/3 (me)]/3 (me)]/3 f4L)]TJ 4)h,tet Tw 4.ar