SM-S93-5

At its meeting of May 3, 1993, the Academic Senate approved the following Senate Management Resolution presented by Theodore Norton for the Organization and Government Committee

ELECTION OF POLICY COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Resolved,

That a new Standing Rule 17 be adopted, as follows:

- 17. a) Policy committee chairs shall be elected annually by the members of the committee.
 - b) Election of a chair requires the presence of a majority of the total authorized membership of the committee (including vacant seats).
 - c) If a majority of the total authorized membership is present, the election shall be held at a special committee meeting during the first session of the new Senate at the end of spring semester. (Ex officio and other committee members not members of the Senate shall be invited to attend the Senate meeting for this purpose.) If the required number is not present, the election may be held at a special meeting at a later date in spring semester or at the first regular meeting of the committee. Pending election of a chair, the committee member whose name is first in alphabetical order shall act as chair and conduct the election.

Replaces SM-S92-2.

1 of 1 1/17/2008 10:40 AM