# CONSTITUTION OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY

#### PREAMBLE

To provide for effective participation and deliberation by the academic community of San José State University in the formulation of governing policies for the University, this Constitution is ordained and established.

### ARTICLE I -- THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Section 1. The Academic Senate is the principal agency for the formulation and recommendation of policy for the University. Regular meetings shall be held at least once every month during the academic year. Special meetings of the Academic Senate shall be called at the request of the President of the University, or of the Chairperson of the Academic Senate, or on <u>a</u> written petition of thirty per cent (30%) of the members of the Academic Senate. A majority of the members constitutes a quorum.

#### ARTICLE II -- MEMBERSHIP

Section 1. The Academic Senate shall consist of representatives from the University administration, faculty, staff, and students. In the interests of communication and cooperation, the Emeritus Faculty Association and the Alumni Association shall also

- b) Tenured faculty and probationary regular faculty who have completed at least one year's service and temporary faculty who have completed at least one Academic year of service at the University are eligible as Senate faculty representatives. Election of probationary or temporary faculty to the Senate does not assure or imply retention or tenure or rehiring. Probationary and temporary faculty elected to the Senate shall have the same term of office as other faculty representatives, but shall cease to be members of the Senate if not retained or rehired.
- c) All faculty may vote for representatives. Each part-time faculty member shall have a weighted vote equal to the fraction of time for which the faculty is appointed or, in the case of voluntary faculty employees, the fraction of time actually being taught, except that a tenured faculty member serving on a part-time appointment shall retain a full vote. Representatives shall be members of and be nominated and elected by the faculty of the representation units to which they are assigned. Terms shall be three (3) years, one-third (1/3) of the faculty representatives to be elected each year.
- d) An elected faculty member is subject to recall by a majority vote of their constituents. A recall election shall be held whenever twenty per cent (20%) or twenty-five (25) of the qualified voters of the constituency, whichever is greater, sign a petition to recall. No member shall be subject to a recall election more than once in an academic year.
- Section 4. a) For the purpose of this Constitution, the staff consists of all University employees who are not members of Collective Bargaining Unit 3, nor students, and do not hold positions as Management Personnel Plan (MPP) employees.
- b) When further delineation is needed, the term "SSP staff" is used to refer to those staff members who are represented by Bargaining Unit 4 and hold positions as Student Service Professionals (SSP), and the term "general staff" is used to refer to all other staff members of the university.
- c) Staff representatives shall consist of two (2) SSP staff and two (2) general staff representatives elected as provided for in the bylaws.
- d) Staff members who have completed at least one year's service at the University are eligible as Senate Staff representatives. Election of probationary or temporary staff to the Senate does not assure or imply retention or tenure or rehiring. Probationary and temporary staff elected to the Senate shall have the same term of office as other faculty representatives, but shall cease to be members of the Senate if not retained or rehired.
  - e) All staff may vote for their respective representatives. Each part

elected by staff members for staggered three-year terms.

f) An elected staff member is subject to recall by a majority vote of their constituents. A recall election shall be held whenever twenty per cent (20%) or twenty-five (25) of the qualified voters of the constituency, whichever is greater, sign a petition to recall. No member shall be subject to a recall election more than once in an academic year.

Section 5. Representatives to the Academic Senate, California State University, shall be members ex officio of the Academic Senate of San José State University. They shall be elected according to procedures established by the Academic Senate, California State University, and the Academic Senate of this University.

Section 6. The Chair of the Academic Senate and the previous year's Chair (if not the same person as the current chair) shall be members of the Senate ex officio.

Section 7. Student representatives shall consist of the President of the Associated Students and six (6) students in good standing selected according to policies and procedures prescribed by Associated Students, Inc. These students shall serve one-year terms, and may serve more than one term. Vacancies in these Senate seats will be filled according to Associated Students, Inc. policies and procedures.

Section 8. The Alumni Association representative shall be elected by the Association in the same manner as Association officers, to a three (3) year term.

Section 9. The representative of the Emeritus Faculty Association shall be an officer of the Association designated by the Association.

ARTICLE III - ORGANIZATION

Bylaws may be enacted only by a two-thirds (2/3) majority at a regular meeting subsequent to the meeting at which such bylaws are introduced.

Section 6. The Academic Senate may establish its own rules of procedure consistent with this Constitution. A standing rule may be established, amended or rescinded by a majority vote at any meeting.

Section 7. The Academic Senate shall appoint committees of its own as specified in

petition signed by twenty per cent (20%) of the electorate. Ratification shall require approval by a majority of the votes cast by the electorates, and by the President of the University.

## ARTICLE VII – ADOPTION

This Constitution shall become effective on approval by a majority of the faculty and staff and by the President of the University.