SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY Academic Senate

Engineering 285/287 2 p.m. - 5 p.m.

1999/2000 Academic Senate

MINUTES May 1, 2000

I. The meeting was called to order at 2:05 p.m. and attendance was noted. Forty senators were present.

Ex Officio:

z Present: Hegstrom, Gorney-Moreno, Stacks, McNeil, Shifflett

Absent: Davila

Administrative Representatives:

z Present: Bain, Caret, Lee

Absent: Kassing, Rascoe

Deans:

The minutes from <u>April 17, 2000</u> were approved with corrections.

III. Communications

A. From the Chair of the Senate

The Chair greeted Senators. The Chair announced that the first faculty recognition luncheon cosponsored by the Senate, the President, and the Provost was held on Tuesday, April 25th with 215 people attending. The event honored those with 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 years of service, retiring faculty, Outstanding Professor, Presidents Scholar and Distinguished Service Award Recipient. The Chair received many positive reviews from faculty honorees and their colleagues who were there to support them.

The Chair stated that as was mentioned on the 17th, a nominating committee was formed for Senate Officers. The nominating committee consists of Senator Brent and Senator Katz. The Chair also stated that if you are running for office please have your statements into the Senate Office by 8:00 a.m. on Wednesday, May 3rd. The offices that are open are the Chairs of the Policy Committees, who are elected yearly, the at-large seat on the Executive Committee to replace the Past Chair position, the seat for a CSU Statewide Senator, and the Secretary of the Senate.

Vice-Chair Brent stated that statements should be no longer than one page and should include your experience and why you want to be Senate Officer.

The Chair requested the Senators to mark their calendars on Monday, May 15th from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. as we will be doing an orientation for Chairs of Policy Committees and Operating Committees who begin their term Fall, 2000.

The Chair stated that Budget Advisory Committee requested the Senators approval to continue to meet this Spring until their work is completed. The Chair asked if there was any dissent. There was no dissent. The Senate approved the Budget Advisory Committee's request to continue to meet this Spring until their work is completed.

Vice-Chair Brent the stated that the Executive Committee approved "Assessment" as the topic for the Fall Retreat. He also stated that the Retreat will be the second or **third** week of September.

B. From the P

demolition of the building in underway. He stated that the new student services

Senator Hegstrom called the question. The call of the question was approved. The Senate then approved Senator Roth's

Senator Katz presented A.S. 1108 for the Organization and Government Committee. He explained the resolution and asked for questions. After questions the Senate moved to debate. A friendly amendment was made to add "Academic" to title. It was accepted as friendly. Senator Katz offered a friendly amendment to add "to the Senate" after report in the resolve clause number 4. It was accepted as friendly. Senator Canziani made a motion to add a member of Academic Services unit called Academic Technology. It was seconded and moved to debate. After debate Senator Buzanski called the question. The call of the question was approved. The Senate voted on Senator Canziani's amendment and it was defeated. Senator Stacks offered a friendly amendment to change the faculty under number 2 of the resolve clause from "four faculty-at-large members to eight faculty-at-large members and remove from the present CIO Advisory Board plus four additional faculty from the remaining representative units. It was accepted as friendly. Senator Brent offered a friendly amendment to add to resolve clause number 1 "This committee is authorized until 2000/2001 academic year only." It was accepted as friendly. Senator Brent made a motion to amend number 2 in the resolve clause to change the number of students from "four" to "two". It was seconded and moved to debate. After debate Senator Stacks called the question. The call of the question was approved. The Senate voted on Senator Brent's amendment and it was defeated. Since there was no more debate the Senate then moved to vote. The Senate voted and approved A.S. 1108 with 1 abstention.

D. Instruction and Student Affairs Committee

<u>A.S.</u>

Policy Committee Appointments

	Ahmed Hambaba	Committee on Committees	seat D	2003
Commi001	Susan Ashley	Committee on Committees	seat B	2003
	Manjari Ohala	Committee on Committees	seat E	2003
	Nancy Stork	Curriculum & Research	seat I	2001
	Ahmed Hambaba	Curriculum & Research	seat H	2001
	Carolyn Glogoski	Curriculum & Research	seat E	2001
	Sally Veregge	Curriculum & Research	seat J	2001

Jonathan Rot196.4399 470.163 Tm(Resear5us.sear5us.sear5us.sear5us.sear5us.sear5us41 Tm(Ahmtr1)8S2lERot

Simon Shim	Teacher Education	seat B	2001
Elizabeth Harkens	All University Teacher Education	seat A	2003
Marcia Holstrom	All University Teacher Education	seat H	2003
Selma Burkom (at large)	All University Teacher Education	seat E	2001
Aharon Hibshoosh	Continuing Education	seat B	2003
Julio Garcia	Continuing Education	seat D	2003
Linda Reeves	-	seat H	2003
	Continuing Education		
Marcia Holstrom	Continuing Education	seat G	2001
Aaron Goldman	Enrollment	seat G	2003
Diana Stover	Graduate Studies	seat D	2003
Michael Gorman	Graduate Studies	seat H	2003
Seiichiro Inaba	Graduate Studies	seat G	2003
Malu Roldan	Improvement of Instruction	seat G	2003
Malu Roldan Shelly Cook- Contreras		seat G seat H	2003 2003
Shelly Cook-	Instruction Improvement of		
Shelly Cook- Contreras	Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of	seat H	2003
Shelly Cook- Contreras Barbara Gottesman	Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of	seat H seat C	2003 2003
Shelly Cook- Contreras Barbara Gottesman Dennis Jaehne	Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of	seat H seat C seat E	2003 2003 2002
Shelly Cook- Contreras Barbara Gottesman Dennis Jaehne	Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of	seat H seat C seat E	2003 2003 2002
Shelly Cook- Contreras Barbara Gottesman Dennis Jaehne Jerry Gao	Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction	seat H seat C seat E seat D	2003 2003 2002 2001
Shelly Cook- Contreras Barbara Gottesman Dennis Jaehne Jerry Gao Marlene Turner Amy Strage	Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Instruction Inst. Rev. Board, Human Subjects Inst. Rev. Board, Human Subjects	seat H seat C seat E seat D seat B seat C	2003 2003 2002 2001 2001 2002
Shelly Cook- Contreras Barbara Gottesman Dennis Jaehne Jerry Gao Marlene Turner	Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Improvement of Instruction Instruction Inst. Rev. Board, Human Subjects Inst. Rev. Board, Human Subjects	seat H seat C seat E seat D seat B	2003 2003 2002 2001 2001

Susan Otto	I'ntl Programs and Students	seat D	2003
Mark Nagel	Lottery Funds	seat A	2003
Stan Malos	Student Evaluation Review Board	seat B	2003
Leon Yengoyan	Student Evaluation Review Board	seat F	2002
Sheila Bienenfeld	Student Evaluation Review Board	seat G	2002
Marcos Pizzaro	Student Evaluation Review Board	seat I	2003
Yao Yao	Student Fairness	seat E	2003
Rob Vitale	Student Success	seat B	2001
Mary Moore	Student Success	seat H	2003
Chris Hagie	Student Success	seat C	2003
Cynthia Schroeder	Undergraduate Studies	seat A	2003
Tony May	Campus Planning Board	seat K	2003
Jean Sullivan	Campus Planning Board	seat G	2003