4 p.m. – 5 p.m.

2005/2006 Academic Senate

MINUTES May 16, 2005

I. The meeting was called to order at 4:15 p.m. and attendance was taken. Forty-four Senators were present.

Ex Officio:

Present: Veregge, Nellen, Van Selst, Sabalius, Gutierrez, McNeil,

Administrative Representatives:

Present: Phillips, Lee, Ashton, Sigler

Deans:

Present: Hegstrom, Stacks, Merdinger,

Absent: Wei

Students:

Present: Fithian, Glover, Le, Estrada Absent: Bridgeman, Recchioni

Alumni Representative:

Absent: Thompson

Emeritus Representative:

Present: Buzanski

Honorary Senators (Non-Voting):

Present: Norton

General Unit Representatives:

Present: Thames, Griffith,

CASA Representatives:

Present: David, Fee, Absent: Butler, Perry

COB Representatives:

Present: Campsey, El-Shaieb, Osland

Present: Lessow-Hurley, Maldonado-Colon, Parsons

ENG Representatives:

Present: Singh Absent: Gao

H&A Representatives:

Present: Van Hooff, Desalvo, Leddy, Belet, Hilliard

SCI Representatives:

Present: Bros, Kellum, Scharberg, McClory

SOS Representatives:

Present: Von Till, Peter, Hebert

SW Representative:

Present: Wilson

II. **Approval of Academic Senate Minutes - None**

III. **Communications and Questions –**

A. From the Chair of the Senate:

Chair Veregge said, "Welcome to the first meeting of the Academic Senate for the 2005/2006 year. This is a very important meeting, because this is when we elect the Senate Officers. We will start off with roll call. Please answer as Eva (Senate Administra

previous Senate is revision of the Retention-Tenure-Promotion (RTP) policy. We will likely be voting on a revision to that policy in early Fall 2005."

Chair Veregge said, "I would like to encourage all Senators to go back and find out what issues are on the minds of your colleagues, so that we can address some of these issues in the upcoming year. One thing that is very challenging for the Senate is to communicate with the campus as a whole. For the new Senators, any Senator can bring a referral to the Senate. As a matter of fact, any faculty member can make a referral to the Senate and ask that the Senate consider a particular topic. A few issues have already com

3. Election of Chair, Curriculum and Research Committee-

Chair Veregge asked for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Chair Veregge announced that the nominees for the Chair of Organization and Government were Senators David and Von Till. Senators David and Von Till gave brief statements of interest. The Senate Administrator, Eva Joice, distributed ballots. Past Chair Nellen and Eva Joice counted the ballots. Chair Veregge announced that Senator David was the new Chair of the Curriculum and Research Committee.

4. Election of Chair, Instruction and Student Affairs Committee-

Chair Veregge asked for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Chair Veregge announced that the only nominee for the Chair of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee was Senator Thames. Senator Thames gave a brief statement of interest. Chair Veregge declared Senator Thames the new Chair by acclimation.

5. Election of Chair, Organization and Government Committee-

Chair Veregge asked for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Chair Veregge announced that the nominees were Senators Hebert and Parsons. Senators Hebert and Parsons gave brief statements of interest. The Senate Administrator, Eva Joice, distributed ballots. Past Chair Nellen and Eva Joice counted the ballots. Chair Veregge announced that Senator Parsons was the new Chair of the Organization and Government Committee.

6. Election of Chair, Professional Standards Committee-

Chair Veregge asked for nominations from the floor. Chair Veregge announced that the only candidate was Senator Bros. Senator Bros gave a brief statement of interest. Chair Veregge declared Senator Bros the new Chair of the Professional Standards Committee by acclimation.

7. Election of Statewide Senate Representative to the Executive Committee.

Chair Veregge asked for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Chair Veregge announced that the only candidate for the Statewide Senate Representative to the Executive Committee was Senator Van Selst. Senator Van Selst gave a brief statement of interest. Chair Veregge declared Senator Van Selst the Statewide Senate Representative to the Executive Committee by acclimation.

IX. State of the University Announcements. Questions. In rotation.

- A. VP for Administration and Finance moved to the next meeting.
- B. VP for Student Affairs moved to the next meeting.

- C. AS President moved to the next meeting.
- D. Statewide Academic Senator(s) moved to the next meeting.E. Provost moved to the next meeting.
- **X. Adjournment** The meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.