SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY

4 p.m. – 5 p.m.

2008/2009 Academic Senate

MINUTES May 12, 2008

I. The meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m. and attendance was taken. Thirty-three Senators were present.

Ex Officio:

Present: Lessow-Hurley, Meldal Absent: Sabalius, Van Selst, Kassing, Cavu-Litman

Administrative Representatives: Present: Sigler, Phillips Absent: Najjar, Lee

Deans: Present: Parrish, Merdinger, Stacks, Absent: Meyers

Students: Present: (The Student Senators have not been appointed yet.)

Alumni Representative: Absent: Thompson

Emeritus Representative: Present: Buzanski

Honorary Senators (Non-Voting): Absent: Norton

General Unit Representatives: Present: Sivertsen, Romo Absent: Fujimoto CASA Representatives: Present: Fee, Schultz-Krohn, Hendrick, Kao, Canham

COB Representatives: Present: Roldan, Campsey

ED Represent: Present: Maldonado-Colon, Rickford, Langdon

ENG Representatives: Present: Backer, Du Absent: Gleixner

H&A Representatives: Present: Desalvo, Van Butler, Vanniarajan Absent: Mok, Brown, Van Hooff

SCI Representatives: Present: McClory, Kaufman, Hilliard, McGee

SOS Representatives: Present: Hebert, Von Till Absent: Lee

II. Approval of Academic Senate Minutes – None

III. Communications and Questions -

A. From the Chair of the Senate:

Chair Meldal had the following comments/announcements:

Chair Meldal said, "One year ago when I ran for Vice Chair I did not know what I was getting into, and I've been in a state of thorough denial ever since. I'm honored and

privileged to be part of this community of the Senate. A number of things occurred during Judith's [Past Chair Lessow-Hurley] tenure that I hope to continue, namely adjourning early and not messing-up. Anything beyond that is frosting on the cake, and I consider myself a lucky person to achieve whatever we can do.

We are heading for interesting times. We are getting a new President, and I think it is appropriate that we extend a note of thanks to the Advisory Committee to the Board of Trustees for the Selection of the President. Four of these committee members were Senators including Past Chair Lessow-Hurley, Senator Najjar, Senator Peter, and Senator Henderson. We all had the joy of interviewing the three Presidential candidates last week, and I think they all would do a fine job as President. I am very satisfied with the candidates. All three of them had a good understanding of the role of the Senate and what we need to do together.

Senator Van Selst, who is in Long Beach today, was re-elected as Secretary of the CSUJ0.0003 Tt -24 fm

Chair Meldal said, "The Nominating Committee consisted of Past Chair Lessow-Hurley, Senator Van Selst, and I. We can report a partial success in that we have good candidates for all Senate Officer seats. However, we did not succeed in getting two candidates for each of the seats."

VIII. New Business –

A. Election of Vice Chair

Senator Kaufman gave his candidacy statement. Chair Meldal called for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Senator Kaufman was declared the Vice Chair by acclamation.

B. Election of Associate Vice Chair/Chair of Committee on Committees

Senator McClory gave her candidacy statement. Chair Meldal called for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Senator McClory was declared the AVC by acclamation.

C. Election of the Chair of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee

Senator Sivertsen gave her candidacy statement. Senator James Lee was not present to give his statement. Chair Meldal called for nominations from the floor. Ballots were distributed by AVC McClory and Eva Joice. AVC McClory counted the ballots. Chair Meldal declared Senator Sivertsen the new Chair of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee.

D. Election of the Chair of Organization and Government Committee

Senators Backer and Hebert gave their candidacy statements. Chair Meldal called for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Ballots were distributed by AVC McClory and Eva Joice. AVC McClory counted the ballots. Chair Meldal declared Senator Backer the new Chair of the Organization and Government Committee.

E. Election of the Chair of the Professional Standards Committee

Senator Maldonado-Colon gave her candidacy statement. Chair Meldal called for nominations from the floor. Senator Hebert was nominated from the floor. Ballots were distributed by AVC McClory and Eva Joice. AVC McClory counted the ballots. Chair Meldal declared Senator Maldonado-Colon the new Chair of the Professional Standards Committee.

F. Election of the Chair of the Curriculum and Research Committee

Senator Von Till gave her candidacy statement. Chair Meldal called for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Senator Buzanski commented that Senator Von Till would be the first lecturer on the Executive Committee. Several Senators commented that Senator McClory was a lecturer and had been on the Executive Committee several years, and that Senator Von Till had also served as the Faculty-at-Large Representative [in the absence of a Past Chair] on the Executive Committee for the past year. Senator Von Till was declared the new Chair of the Curriculum and Research Committee by acclamation.

G. Election of the CSU Statewide Representative to the Executive Committee

Senator Van Selst was in Long Beach and was unable to give his statement. Chair Meldal called for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Chair Meldal

declared Senator Van Selst the CSU Statewide Representative to the Executive Committee by acclamation.

IX. State of the University Announcements. Questions. In rotation.

- A. Vice President for Administration and Finance None
- **B. Vice President for Student Affairs** None
- C. Associated Students President None
- **D. Vice President for University Advancement** None
- **E. Statewide Academic Senator**(s) None
- F. Provost None
- **X.** Adjournment The meeting adjourned at 4:40 p.m.