SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY

4 p.m. – 5 p.m.

2010/2011 Academic Senate

CASA Representatives:

MINUTES May 10, 2010

I. The meeting was called to order at 4:16 p.m. and roll call was taken by the Senate Administrator. Thirty-nine Senators were present.

Ex Officio:

Present: Kaufman, Lessow-Hurley, Whitmore, Kolodziejak, Sabalius, Van Selst

Administrative Representatives:

Present: Selter, Lee, Najjar Absent: Phillips

110001111 1

Deans:

Present: Merdinger, Chin, Stacks Absent: Parrish

Students:

Present: Starks, Armendariz Absent: Peddada, Salazar, Solorzano (Note: Student Senators are not sworn in until June 2010 by AS, so most do not attend this first meeting.)

Present: Fujimoto, Peck, Lin

IV. Executive Committee Report –

A. Executive Committee Minutes – None

B. Consent Calendar – Senator McClory presented the initial consent calendar for 2010-2011. There were several changes due to the Senate Officer elections. Senators Peter and Ng switched places. Senator Ng will be on the Professional Standards Committee, and Senator Peter will be on the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee. In addition, Senator Walters was added to the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee as an Alumni Representative, and Thalia Anagnos has agreed to serve another four-year term on the Board of Academic Freedom and Professional Responsibility from the College of Engineering. A motion was made and seconded to approve the consent calendar. <u>The Senate voted and the consent calendar was approved as amended</u>.

C. Executive Committee Action Items: None

- V. Unfinished Business None
- VI. Policy Committee and University Library Board Action Items. In rotation.
 - A. Curriculum and Research Committee (C&R) None
 - **B.** Organization and Government Committee (O&G) None
 - C. Instruction and Student Affairs Committee (I&SA) None
 - D. University Library Board (ULB) None
 - E. Professional Standards Committee (PS) None
- VII. Special Committee Reports No reports

VIII. New Business -

A. Election of the Associate Vice Chair/Chair of the Committee on Committees

Senator McClory was the only nominee. Chair Kaufman called for nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominees. Senator McClory presented her candidacy statement. A motion was made to vote by acclamation. The motion was seconded and approved by the Senate. <u>Senator McClory was declared the AVC/Chair of the Committee on Committees by acclamation</u>.

B. Chair of the Curriculum and Research Committee

Senator Heiden was the only nominee. Chair Kaufman called for nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominees. Senator Heiden presented her candidacy statement. A motion was made to vote by acclamation. The motion was seconded and approved by the Senate. <u>Senator Heiden was declared the Chair of the Curriculum and Research Committee by acclamation.</u>

C. Chair of the Organization and Government Committee

Senator Kimbarow was the only nominee. Chair Kaufman called for nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominees. Senator Kimbarow presented his candidacy statement. A motion was made to vote by acclamation. The motion was seconded and approved by the Senate. <u>Senator Kimbarow was declared the Chair of</u> the Organization and Government Committee by acclamation.

D. Chair of the Professional Standards Committee

Senators Backer and Ng presented their candidacy statements. Chair Kaufman called for nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominees. The Senate voted by secret ballot, and <u>Senator Ng was elected the Chair of the Professional Standards</u> <u>Committee</u>.

E. Chair of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee

Senator Gleixner was the only nominee. Chair Kaufman called for nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominees. A motion was made to vote by acclamation. The motion was seconded and approved by the Senate. <u>Senator Gleixner was elected</u> the Chair of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee by acclamation.

F. CSU Statewide Representative on the Executive Committee

Senator Van Selst was the only nominee. Senator Van Selst presented his candidacy statement. A motion was made and seconded to vote by acclamation. The motion was seconded and approved by the Senate. <u>Senator Van Selst was elected the CSU</u> <u>Statewide Representative to the Executive Committee by acclamation.</u>

G. Faculty-at-Large Representative on the Executive Committee

Senators Nellen and Peter presented their candidacy statements. Chair Kaufman called for nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominees. The Senate voted by secret ballot and <u>Senator Peter was elected the Faculty-at-Large Representative to the Executive Committee.</u>

IX. State of the University Announcements. Questions. In rotation.

- A. Vice President for University Advancement None
- **B.** CSU Statewide Senators None
- C. Provost None
- D. Vice President for Finance and Administration None
- E. Vice President for Student Affairs None

F. Associated Students President –

AS President Tomasz Kolodziejak thanked