2024-2025 Academic Senate Minutes May 6, 2024

I. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m., and 52 Senators were present.

Ex Officio: Present: Curry, Lacson, Sasikumar, Van Selst, Rodan Absent:	HHS Representatives: Present: Baur, Chang Absent: Sen
Administrative Representatives: Present: Del Casino, Faas, Teniente-Matson, Fuentes-Martin, Dukes Absent:	COB Representatives: Present: Chen, Jenson, Vogel Absent: None

Deans / AVPs:

Present: d'Alarcao, Kaufman, Meth, Shillington

Absent: None

- Green, Wong

Present: Jochim Absent: None	SCI Representatives: Present: Heindl, Shaffer, Madura, Muller Absent: None
Honorary Representative: Present: Buzanski, Peter, Lessow-Hurley Absent: None	SOS Representatives: Present: Buyco, Hart, Raman, Pinnell, Meniketti Absent: None

General Unit Representatives:

Present: Flandez, Johnson, Masegian, Pendyala,

Velarde

Absent: None

Chair Sasikumar's update featured the following:

The chair recognized the new senators: Alessandro Bellofiore, Behin Elahi, Scott Jensen, Raha Shojaei, Ray Buyco, and Thomas Madura. The new student senators are Anushka Joshi, Sehtej Khehra, and Chima Nwokolo.

B. From the President: No Report

Executive Committee Report:

A. Minutes of the Executive Committee:

There were no minutes for approval

- B. Consent Calendar: Consent Calendar for May 6, 2024 approved
- C. Executive Committee Action Items: None
- V. Unfinished Business: None
- VI. Policy Committee and University Library Board Action Items (In rotation)
 - A. University Library Board (ULB): No Report
 - B. Professional Standards Committee (PS): No Report
 - C. Instruction and Student Affairs Committee (I&SA): No Report
 - D. Organization and Government Committee (O&G): No Report
 - E. Curriculum and Research Committee (C&R): No Report
- VII. Special Committee Reports: None
- VIII. New Business: Election of Senate Officers for 2024-2025.

A. Election of the Associate Vice Chair:

The chair called for any nominations from the floor, but there were none. Senator Ranko Heindl made a brief statement and was elected unanimously.

B. CSU Statewide Representative to the Executive Committee:

The chair called for any nominations from the floor, but there were none. Senator Julia

Curry made a brief statement and was elected unanimously.

C. Election of Chair of Curriculum and Research Committee

The chair called for any nominations from the floor, but there were none. Senator Hiu Yung Wong made a brief statement and was elected unanimously.

D. Election of Chair of Professional Standards Committee

e. Associated Students President:

My name is Ariana Lacson. I'm a 3rd-year medical engineering major, and this is my 3rd year in a row serving AS. I'm excited to foster a lot more collaboration between faculty administration staff and our student body. Just because students rely on professors, they rely on the administration, and you rely on us to give you your paychecks.

I also know that committee membership is super important. So, if you're looking for students to sit on committees, feel free to reach out to me at my email.

- f. CSU Statewide Representative(s): No report due to lack of time
- **X. Adjournment:** The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.