Minutes of the meeting of Aug 28, 2023
Taken by Karthika Sasikumar

## **DRAFT ONLY**

Present: Josh Bauer, <u>Julia Curry</u>, Patrick Day, <u>Vincent Del Casino</u>, <u>Charlie Faas</u>, <u>Rachael French</u>, <u>Charlie Faas</u>, <u>Reiko Kataoka</u>, <u>Sarab</u> <u>Multani</u>, <u>Karthika Sasikumar</u>, <u>Laura Sullivan-Green</u>, Cynthia Teniente-Matson, <u>Hiu Yung Wong</u>

Absent: Dawn Lee, Alison McKee, Tabitha Hart

The meeting was called to order at noon. The minutes of the previous Senate Executive meeting were approved without modification. The group discussed whether updates by policy committee chairs and administrators should be incorporated into the minutes. It was decided that the best course of action would be to record only the oral presentations in the minutes.

The first item of business was to discuss the nomination of Lauryn Miller, forwarded from Chief of Staff, Lisa Millora, as the Administration Representative on the Student Fairness Committee (SFC). The term ends in 2025. The committee unanimously approved this nomination.

executive committee at a meeting in the spring semester, but the presenters pointed out that they had incorporated changes after discussions in the summer with a range of stakeholders. The Chair also explained the rationale for creating a special committee, rather than simply introducing a resolution to add staff. Members appreciated the effort that had gone into crafting the SMR, and recommended that the authors of the past referrals should be invited to the full Senate meeting where it would be presented, and also informed about the rationale for creating a committee.

A few changes were proposed to the SMR, adding a proviso that one of the co-chairs had to be a faculty member. The nomination process for the student member was made less stringent.

The Executive Committee voted unanimously to approve the SMR to be presented at the full Senate meeting on its behalf.